Belt/pocket clips

The area to discuss BOB's, EDC's, GHB's and other gear. Also includes Comms and other radio topics.
Mac66
Board Founder

Belt/pocket clips

Post by Mac66 »

I very rarely carry a pistol in a holster. My typical EDC is pocket carry or with the pistol stuck IWB/belt. I've been carrying that way for over 45 years and never had a problem.

When at all possible I add a belt clip to the pistol to keep if from sliding down into my pants. I had one on my Keltec P11 which I carried for years. I put one on my LC9, Keltec P32, LCP , LC9s Pro and XD9. Recently I lent my Ruger LC9 to my brother who had just gotten his concealed pistol license. The LC9 had a "Clipdraw" clip attached to it which he really liked. When I found him his own LC9s he ordered a Clipdraw for it. Clipdraws typically go for $35/each. I bought a 3 or 4 universal ones on clearance from a website for $8/ea a couple years ago which is the only way I could afford to have one for all the pistols I have them on.

There is also a clip called the "Techno Clip" which is pretty much the same thing as the Clipdraw and costs the same.

When I'm up at my property I typically will slide a full size pistol IWB, usually a 45 auto in case I run into one of the bears. So when my brother said he bought a Clipdraw I started looking at them again. I thought there had to be a cheaper way to add a belt clip. Metal clips after all cost only a few bucks. Realistically the whole belt clip thing for pistols should only cost about $10

So I started looking for metal clips thin enough to attach to a pistol. The Clipdraws and Technoclips come with extra 3m tape strips by which they attach so I had/have plenty of extras.

I found what I was looking for at theclip.com. A thin metal clip for $2.41 ea. I bought 5 of them to try out.

https://www.theclip.com/store/Metal-Bel ... -clip.html